ON THE ROCKS CABIN FeaturedOHIOPYLE, PA
About this listing
Looking for an uber private, tucked away, family friendly rustic luxury guest experience for your next trip to Ohiopyle? Look no further!! On the Rocks Cabin is your ultimate getaway. Designed by Alice Beckett-Rumberger, Design Officer from Turning Leaf Vacation Rentals, this rustic luxury cabin is loosely modeled after one of the most popular cabins in Ohiopyle (Whiskey Rock Cabin). This home, designed and built by TLVR in 2022, is set into a sloping hillside that overlooks the wooded mountain side with small stream (with small trout hole) by the firepit. Once you arrive, the quiet setting of the home, means you will see no cars and likely no people while basking in the quiet of nature. This tucked away cabin sits on 10 acres of PA Wilds is set in the middle of 16,000 acres of PA State Gamelands #51. Hike, hunt or explore directly from the cabin–just be sure to leave with a map and compass as you embark on any excursion. On the Rocks Cabin though private and tucked away is only 4 miles from Kentuck Knob, 7 miles from downtown Ohiopyle and 9 miles from Fallingwater. When you return, enjoy the quiet on the oversized covered patio on the front or large side patio with picnic table or start a game of cornhole off the patio. At night, make memories with friends or family by the fire pit or hot tub. Inside the cabin has all the luxury that you want for a cozy getaway. Enjoy the floor to ceiling gas fireplace, in-floor heat, Flat Screen Smart TV (does consume data) and ATT-Hotspot Internet (DATA rules and streaming fees do apply).
Please note this cabin sits at approximately 2900 feet elevation. Guests really MUST have AWD/4WD to stay here from Nov 1-March 31st.
Please use 729 Bryner Road, Ohiopyle, Pa, 15470 and Google Maps for GPS (confirmed to work). Enter at the 2nd gate as the first gate is for our Whiskey Rock Cabin guests.
**Internet Data Package includes 12 GB data of High Speed Internet. If you think that you need more, be sure to purchase multiple packages of data***
Add new reservation
- ID: 8368
- Guests: 3
- Bedrooms: 3
- Bathrooms: 2
- Check-in After: 4:00 PM
- Check-out Before: 11:00 AM
- Type: Entire Place / CABIN
- night: $275.00
- Weekends (Fri & Sat): $289.00
- Security deposit: $250
- Additional guests: $20.00
- Allow additional guests: Yes
- Cleaning fee: $65
- Minimum days of a booking: 2
- Maximum days of a booking: 14
- Internet 12 gb data package: $75.00
- Airbnb resort fee: $0.00
- 1st Floor King
- 1 King
- 2 Guests
- 2nd Floor
- 2 Double
- 2 Guests
- 2nd Floor
- 1 Double
- 1 Guest
- AIR CONDITIONING
- CABLE/SATELLITE TV
- FAMILY/KID FRIENDLY
- HOT TUB/SPA
- INTERNET/WIFI (Unlimited Data)
- OUTDOOR GRILLING
- PETS ALLOWED
- Fallingwater Accommodations
- Free Parking
- Near Off-Grid
Terms & rules
- Smoking allowed: No
- Pets allowed: Yes
- Party allowed: No
- Children allowed: Yes
- Cancellation Policy
- 60 Day Notice for full refund
- Additional rules information
- Primary Renter must be 25 years older to lease. Guest(s) will follow the rules for the hot tub. Guest failure in this area could result in losing security deposit or extra cleaning fees being deducted. Guest(s) understands and agree that a 4WD/AWD vehicle is required to stay at this cabin (Nov 1-March 31). Absolutely no aggressive pets.
- The minimum stay is 2 nights
- The maximum stay is 14 nights
The cabin was the perfect place for my family to stay for the weekend. The cabin was clean, and the host was quick to respond to any questions we had prior to our trip.Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at our cabin! We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. We strive for prompt communication prior to and during your stay, so we are glad we could do that for you! We'd love to see you back again!
Upon stepping foot into this cabin we were enamored by the decor and layout of this sweet little space. My family of 6 slept comfortably and the cabin had all the necessities. Only complaints that I have are that there is an extra charge for over 4 guests, when the cabin sleeps 6. Then there are only 4 Adirondack chairs around the fire and towels for the hottub. Also, the Wi-Fi that you have to pay extra for is terrible. We only had service for the first evening.Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us! The owner put a lot of thought into every detail of this cabin, and we are glad you enjoyed the space. The extra guest fee does apply after our base guest count is reached (3). The fee helps to cover the cost of consumable goods. It is provided in the quote prior to booking - no hidden fees over here! It is also true that there are 4 chairs around the fire and towels for the hot tub. The fire pit area is well photographed in our listing, clearly depicting 4 chairs. It is not often that this cabin has a reservation with more than four people, but for parties greater than four we welcome you to bring any additional chairs/towels as you see fit. A note on the Wifi - the speed is actually great! Given the remote location of the cabin, we are thrilled to be able to provide good internet service. This is not a cheap amenity to offer, hence the data charge. If the Wifi/internet service is down, it is likely that the data package limit was reached. For more internet, guests simply need to purchase additional packages.
This gem was tucked away in Ohiopyle, and minutes away from Kentuck Knob, Falling Waters, the Greater Allegheny Passage and Wilderness Voyagers (whitewater rafting trip). It wasn’t difficult to find if you follow their direction. We would definitely stay here again!Owner's Response: We enjoyed hosting you at our cabin! The location is definitely great for those who enjoy privacy but also want to be near the attractions of Ohiopyle. We appreciate you taking note of the provided directions to help get you to the cabin - it can be tricky (especially in the dark) which is why we provide directions in our guest stay details! Sounds like you had a great trip, we would love to have you back again soon!
This cabin is super cute and met all our needs. The beds were very comfortable. Everything was very clean. All the basics were there which was very helpful. I would definitely book here again.Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay at On the Rocks Cabin! This cabin does include all of the basics for an enjoyable stay, almost like a home away from home! We would love to have you back soon!
My grandson had a choice of Disney, Lego land or Ohiopyle cabin for his 6th birthday, he chose Ohiopyle and helped pick the cabin! We had a wonderful time for the third time in the Ohiopyle area. We are from Pittsburgh so it is a short trip for a 6 year old who hates long flights and car trips. We will be back.Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Your grandson has great taste if he helped choose this cabin - it is definitely a wonderful spot to spend a birthday. We would love to host you again soon!
My husband and I stayed here in July with one other couple. This cabin is so much more beautiful than pictures can show. We were extremely impressed by the usage of space, the cleanliness and by how modern it was. The kitchen was equipped with everything someone might need, including a dishwasher. It was very convenient to have a washer and dryer too. We very much appreciated the hot tub. It was all set up and ready to go for us upon our arrival. This cabin is perfect for anyone looking to disconnect. It is completely surrounded by woods other than one other cabin next door. The fire pit is set even further back into the woods which really made us feel like we were camping. It was very nice to see such brilliant stars in the evening. The only sounds you hear are those of the animals. It was a very easy drive to Ohiopyle. However, I highly recommend that anyone staying here map out their route ahead of time. GPS kicks in and out and you are literally off the grid. I followed the advice given to me in the instructions and used google maps to get there which worked very well. We really enjoyed our stay. They go above and beyond to keep things nice for their guests here. We would definitely return.Owner's Response: Thank you for being our guest and sharing such a detailed review of your guest experience. The owners put a great of thought into the layout and amenity mix--so, they love hearing your comments on the use of space, kitchen and washer/dryer. We also love how the firepit is set further into the woods by the stream and spillway. Hope to have you back again sometime real soon!
The house is great! Very clean, everything you need. Very close to Ohiopyle which is where we spend most of our time. This was our second stay and we’ll definitely stay again! If I could change anything it would be the expense for internet access- it’s very expensive and feels like it’s something that should be standard.Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us (AGAIN) and being such a great guest. We really appreciate you! (From the Owner) We also appreciate your feedback on the Internet. We'd love if the Internet was just standard too! When we built this cabin, since it is fairly remote, we thought that it was going to have to be an "unplugged" environment. Fortunately, we found an Internet option that does provide relatively good speeds, allows streaming and works with the cabin's remoteness. The down side is the Internet option at the cabin is expensive since it is "data" based. We don't think guests really know how much data they consume (which is a bit surprising to us since the idea of being in the mountain isn't to be watching TV or being on devices--though we know many folks do). At any rate, we're grateful to have decent internet; but, understand not all guests appreciate the fee to use. Still we are grateful for your stay with us! Hope to have you back again real soon!
Cabin includes amenities that make your stay carefree, luxurious, and comfortable! Convenient to restaurants and shops, as well as architectural landmarks in the area. Everything was meticulous and cabin was very comfortable in every way! Consideration was given to all the details that make a vacation rental excellent! We are 5 senior adults and all of us enjoyed our stay in this lovely private and quiet retreat!Owner's Response: It's always great to hear from guests that appreciate the hard work that goes into making a vacation rental memorable! The owners really appreciated hearing that--it's makes it all worthwhile. So, glad you enjoyed the cabin and the retreat to the woods!
This was an incredible property!! Squeaky clean and brand new car smell! (However, some of us in the group had difficulty with the strong smell in the downstairs bedroom). The hot tub was wonderful after a day of hiking and white-water rafting, and the beds were VERY comfortable. Our only “wish” would be that there wouldn’t be a price attached to the Wi-Fi. We apparently paid $75 for 12 GB of connection, but most people (especially over 70) don’t know what that translates into. More times than not, the wifi didn’t work, and cell service was extremely poor or non existent. We loved sitting on the front porch listening to the Pennsylvania migrating bird songs. The great room was super cozy and everything was easily accessible and well-appointed.Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review of your experience with us! Yes, cabin was just newly built (2022); so, we love how new everything is. Great to hear you enjoyed it too. Yes, we would also love to have WiFi/Internet that was not so expensive and data oriented. The cabin is so remote that there are few options and we take the stance that it's better to have fast WiFi/Internet rather than have no Internet and have it be an "unplugged" experience. As a result, there is a cost and guests do need to monitor there us. If you have AT&T cell service is fairly decent; but, most other carriers it's not great. The Wifi/Internet based on 3rd party connection testing apps is actually very good. If the Wifi/Internet is bad, it generally, means that you have exceeded the 12GB and need to buy more. It's also actually pretty easy to determine data consumption these days. All you need to do is a Google Search like, "how much data does a Netflix Movie consume" and you'll get a good answer to judge it. Thanks for mentioning it as this helps future guests too!
Loved the house. Appreciate the effort to make this great for families - including hot tub towels, lots of kitchen supplies. One challenge was the google maps sent me the long way around on a long gravel road. The last day we discovered the shorter route. It would help if you note Dunbar as the better/shorter route. Thanks!Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us. We definitely intended our cabin in the woods to be as family friendly as possible--we enjoy that for our family and really hope other families make memories there too! Sorry to hear about the issue with Google Maps. We have not experienced or heard that before. It's good to capture that in a review so future guests can double check their route. It's actually a challenge to say go the Dunbar side of Bryner Road because we do not know the direction or starting point for guests. Again, thanks for the feedback.
This was a lovely property where my family was able to relax & take a break from the everyday hectic life. It was quiet & secluded yet within a short drive to the park/shops/restaurants. We definitely enjoyed our stay.Owner's Response: Great to hear that you were able to take a break from the hectic life. That is what "cabin life" is all about. We also love how quiet the location is for our retreats too.
This place was a big Wow for my college friend of 25 years and myself. Everything was clean and the location was close to Ohiopyle State Park!Owner's Response: So glad our cabin gave you that "Wow" factor. We're biased but we think it does for us too! Great to hear everything was clean. Yes, the location though fairly remote and private is still close to Ohiopyle State Park. Come on back again anytime.
The house was great! We visit Ohiopyle frequently and have finally found our place to stay! Very cozy, clean and had everything you could need and is only about a 5-10 min drive to downtown Ohiopyle. Will definitely stay there again. Highly recommend!Owner's Response: So, glad you found your "home away from home" for the Ohiopyle area. We also love how tucked away this cabin is but still very close to down Ohiopyle. Come on back again real soon!
The cabin and location were wonderful. Other than wildlife and wind, we had complete silence for the most part. We spent the first half of our days in and around Ohiopyle and then returned to the cabin to relax. The fire pit is set well away from the cabin and it’s wonderful. The hot tub is a nice addition. The exterior of the cabin is well lit at night. The interior is clean and comfortable. The kitchen has all the basics but be sure to bring storage containers, plastic wrap, etc. We had to improvise a bit over the course of four days since Ohiopyle doesn’t have a lot of essentials. We’ve stayed in a number of VRBO rentals that had a few more convenience items. Overall, it was a great stay.Owner's Response: Yes, indeed! Silence is definitely golden and this cabin is really set in a location where you get lots of it! So, glad you enjoyed it and the amenities. It's a good point to share with future guests, be sure to bring things like plastic wrap, aluminum foil and such as these are not regularly re-supplied by the owner. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
My husband and I booked this cabin for a getaway to celebrate our 9th wedding anniversary. What was supposed to be a trip for two, turned into our two children, ages 5 and 3, joining us last minute because our sitter had an accident. However, it was a wonderful trip and we all enjoyed ourselves! This cabin is definitely secluded and the lot of land is beautiful (just trees -we like nature). We enjoyed breakfast on the porch, leaving the door open, the hotbtub, made use of the grill several times, my son loved walking to the little water creek, the fire pit was great, we had a picnic in the grass, put our tent up one night, among other things. The layout is nice and everything is as pictured. The fire place was nice at night and the air/fans kept the inside cool during the day. We ventured to Ohiopyle Park one day and it was less than 15 mins away. This is a great location to be away from everyone but close enough to town. We were informed after booking that maintenance was scheduled to fix the ice machine and dryer. I GREATLY appreciated the heads up, but it was unfortunate to have an outsider in our space we paid to relax and be alone in. I understand schedules and in-between stays, etc. but ideally no one wants to be bothered. Maintenance also came again on a different day for the hot tub and to bring batteries for the remote. As noted, the cabin is as pictured, specifically the kitchen. There was no sponge for dishes, can opener, or wine opener (thanks for the complimentary wine!) provided, so I would suggest the host add them to the amenities. Also the grill was dirty for our use and the hot tub cover was on backwards. Everything should be reviewed after each guest. We packed just about everything we'd need (cast iron skillets, seasoning, coffee, paper towels, containers, etc) so if you like to cook, be prepared to store it and that you have what you need. Remember you're basically in the woods so bring bug/tick spray. We are not fans of pets but the cabin had no sign of animals which I appreciated knowing it was friendly at booking. If you have a dog, I imagine they'll enjoy the property.Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us. We do certainly appreciate your kind words and feedback about our property. Sorry that the grill did not meet your expectations, we will certainly work on that. There definitely is a wine opener at the property; but, we have since added another wine opener and can opener. It's true our place is pet friendly; so, it's wonderful to hear that you did not see any sign of prior pets. We do take some issue with your comments related to maintenance, however. We provided you this notice prior to your completed booking, so that you could either cancel and book another place; so, including that in guest review is a bit of a "guest foul" to us. For future guests, it is understandable to not want any maintenance done at a property while you are staying there. We do get this idea; but, if you are a last minute booking (as this was) and we already have a scheduled appointment for something to be fixed, we are going to keep the appointment. It's difficult to get a vendor out to a property these days; so, we are just grateful that we have good vendors/contractors to keep our properties as well maintenance for guest enjoyment as we do. If we tell you this at booking inception and you have an inkling that it might be a problem for you, please do not complete the booking.. But, if you say to us, "no that won't be any problem with us...we definitely want to stay"...don't later say, in a guest review that's it's a problem. With respect to hot tub maintenance, for tubs to be sanitized, cleaned, chemically balanced, they need service every 3-5 days...so, if there is a hot tub at a property, please do not be surprised when maintenance shows up to complete this works.
Fun and relaxing place to stay. Loved the hot tub large, fire pit area, and front porch. House was small but efficient—obviously brand new. We appreciated the ability to bring our dog, who also loved the grounds. Property is about 15 minutes from Ohiopyle,Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at our cabin in the woods! So, glad that you and your fur baby enjoyed your time. Yes, we think this cabin is not overly large---but it is an efficient design to vacation getaways.
We had a great time, the cabin is beautifully decorated and tucked away with so much privacy. The description is dead on with no surprises. We will definitely make this a place to return too.Owner's Response: Yes, no one likes "surprises" with a vacation getaway! :) So, glad you enjoyed our private cabin in the woods! Come on back again real soon!
This modern cabin was spotlessly clean, with a fabulous layout, great art and fun details. The hot tub, fire ring, corn hole, picnic table and grill made for great nights with the family. After hiking, rafting and architectural tours during the day, the cabin contributed to wonderful time for our family of four, including our two young adult daughters, and golden retriever. This is one of the best rentals we've had, equal to great homes in Hawaii and St. Thomas. If you have family members who love design, this cabin is for you. Check in/ Check out and communications with the property manager were easy and seamless. We will be back in the fall. Thanks for a terrific stay.Owner's Response: Thank you for the kindest of words about this cabin and your experience with us.. The owners really put a ton of hard work, love for getaways and providing exceptional guest experiences into this modern cabin. I know that it is really a pleasure to them when guests appreciate these details. Come on back again real soon. We will be happy to host you!
We are in love with this cabin! This place is gorgeous and had everything we wanted and more. It was just us two but would be a perfect place to bring the family. Thank you for the amazing place and we hope to venture back to stay again.Owner's Response: Thank you for the kindest of words. We really put lots of work (and love for great getaways) into this cabin. So, glad to hear that you appreciated and enjoyed our place. Come on back again and bring the family! We would be happy to have you back!
There needs to be a blind on the bathroom window. My wife was trying to get out of the shower, but the men were moving the lawn. Also, a broom for the porch and vacuum for the inside would help. There was no top sheet for one bed and missing pillow cases on some. The maintenance man should have notified he was coming to the cabin, my wife was there by herself and was frightened because she did not know who he was. Other than these minor issues, our stay was enjoyable and relaxing. We would stay again. Thank you,Owner's Response: Thank you for your guest review and your feedback. We certainly appreciate it. For future guests that might read this review. It is true there is not a blind in any of the bathrooms; but, there are curtains that can be closed for more privacy. There is a broom hanging in the mechanical room for guest use. It is not always easy for a guest to see; but, it is hanging on the wall. A Swiffer duster is actually there as well. Our local operations/maintenance contact DOES make his rounds, checking on properties and treating hot tubs. He has over a dozen properties in the area that he needs to get to...so, announcing his presence to each guest at each property is really impractical. We work to maintain our properties which requires his presence from time to time. Again, we definitely appreciate this guest feedback but wanted to provide a response back as some maintenance presence at our properties should be expected.
I could not have picked a better cabin to stay in. The owner was very cooperative, the property management team was amazing to work with, and the property is one of the best cabins I have ever stayed in. It was so clean and properly stocked. It's nice and secluded. One of my favorite cabins thus far. Plan on going back in the winter.Owner's Response: So, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We think this cabin makes for an amazing getaway---so, glad you think so too! Great to the feedback on the property management team. The secluded nature of this cabin is special! Come on back again real soon--that hot tub in the snow should be quite the treat.
The place was very nice, quiet, and good size for my family. Because the house was so new, there was a strong paint smell that gave me bad headache on my 1st day & night. Also, lots of bugs so we could not enjoy outdoor much. The area has some great stuff to do.Owner's Response: Yes, indeed this home was just built, so, it does still have that new home smell. The home is exactly as it is described, surrounded by 16,000 acres of PA woodlands---so, yes bring your bug spray. If you are guest considering a stay at our cabin and bugs deter you from enjoying the outdoors, this is definitely not a great fit.
- 3 Bedrooms
- 1.5 Baths
- 8 Guests
- 3 Bedrooms
- 1 Baths
- 5 Guests
- 1 Bedrooms
- 1 Baths
- 4 Guests
- 1 Bedrooms
- 1 Baths
- 2 Guests