PADDLINGTON BEAR COTTAGE Featured

CONFLUENCE, PA
tleaze
Type
Entire Place, Some Common Areas / COTTAGE
Accomodation
5 Guests
Bedrooms
3 Bedrooms / 4 Beds
Bathrooms
2 Full

About this listing

Enjoy this 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom, open concept cottage for your next getaway to the Laurel Highlands. The cottage sits on 12 beautiful acres with quick access to the Cassellman, Laurel Hill, and Yough Rivers. Perfect for the family that enjoys the outdoors, fisherman or hunter that want to be close to their catch!

Please Note: Pavilion Area, including grill, fire pit and hot tub are all common area for the property.

Please NOTE to AVOID DISAPPOINTMENT: This home will put you close to nature, there are frequent animals close to the home. The home sits directly in a beautiful PA Wilds country meadow. You are entering nature at its best. The home is under pest/rodent treatment; but, you will see all types of bugs (wasps, bees, gnats, ants, stink bugs, and more), chipmunks, mice, groundhogs, skunks, porcupines at the home. At one point, this home has had each under and/or around the home. Furthermore, raccoons, deer, coyotes and bear are relatively common and close to the house; so, outside garbage/food/pets should always be secured. If this is NOT an experience as a guest that you would like to have, we would recommend you NOT booking this home.

Add new reservation

Details

  • ID: 4835
  • Guests: 2
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Beds: 4
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Check-in After: 4:00 PM
  • Check-out Before: 11:00 AM
  • Type: Entire Place, Some Common Areas / COTTAGE
  • Size: 1300 Sq Ft

Prices

  • night: $99.00
  • Weekends (Fri & Sat): $99.00
  • Security deposit: $250
  • Additional guests: $15.00
  • Allow additional guests: Yes
  • Cleaning fee: $50
  • Minimum days of a booking: 2
  • Maximum days of a booking: 14
  • Airbnb (only) management fee: $50.00

Accomodation

Master Bedroom
1 King
2 Guests
2nd Bedroom
1 Double
2 Guests
Kids Bedroom
2 Loft Bed (twin on top, double on bottom)
3 Guests

Features

Amenities

  • AIR CONDITIONING
  • CABLE/SATELLITE TV
  • FAMILY/KID FRIENDLY
  • HEATING
  • HOT TUB/SPA
  • INTERNET/WIFI (Unlimited Data)
  • OUTDOOR GRILLING
  • PARKING
  • PETS ALLOWED
  • WASHER/DRYER
  • WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE

Facilities

  • Free Parking
  • Good Cell Reception

Video


Terms & rules

  • Smoking allowed: No
  • Pets allowed: Yes
  • Party allowed: No
  • Children allowed: Yes
  • Cancellation Policy
  • 30 Days Notice to ensure a full refund
  • Additional rules information
  • Onsite Small Caliber Gun/Bow Range: Shooting hours are from 1pm to 4pm. Absolutely no aggressive pets.

Availability

  • The minimum stay is 2 nights
  • The maximum stay is 14 nights

September 2023

  • M
  • T
  • W
  • T
  • F
  • S
  • S
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30

October 2023

  • M
  • T
  • W
  • T
  • F
  • S
  • S
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • Available
  • Booked

Review

  • Just before my arrival I received a message from the property management company stating that the drain in one of the bath tubs was broken and it could not be stepped on because it would break the temporary fix that was in place. At first I thought that the property was clean when I walked in because it smelled clean. After living there for a couple nights I really started seeing how unclean the place really was, which is really gross. Not to mention the other issues during our stay. I understand that we’re located in the middle of nowhere where wildlife is abundant. However, the “skirting” around the bottom of the house was not secure and some type of rodent got underneath and was rattling the walls of the house. From the inside it sounded like a bear but after investigation we figured it must have been a ground hog or something. The cabinets and drawers in the kitchens had mouse poop in them and I saw a mouse run across the floor and run behind the dishwasher! I contacted the number that was given if there were any issues. Travis was very nice and did come out the next day to set a live trap for the animal under the house and put some mouse traps under the kitchen sink. It wasn’t until later that evening that we discovered that the dishwasher was not functional-after we had already loaded it. The property management company didn’t seem very concerned with my displeasure either. Overall, for the price I paid for a 2 night stay I expected much better of an experience.

    Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback as it is important to us. Yes, the guest prior to you broke the tub drain and we did not have time to fix it before your stay. The tub has since been replaced and is fully functioning. We were not made aware of any cleanliness issues during your stay until the night before your departure – had we known you felt this way earlier we certainly could have had our housekeeping crew come in. A note on the location of the house: This home will put you close to nature, there are frequent animals close to the home. The home sits directly in a beautiful PA Wilds country meadow. You are entering nature at its best. The home is under pest/rodent treatment; but, you will see all types of bugs (wasps, bees, gnats, ants, stink bugs, and more), chipmunks, mice, groundhogs, skunks, porcupines at the home. At one point, this home has had each under and/or around the home. Furthermore, raccoons, deer, coyotes and bear are relatively common and close to the house. We have since added this verbiage to the property listing. If this does not sound like an experience guests want, we recommend they do not book this home. It is also unfortunate that the dishwasher broke during your stay. Our operations manager did test it prior to your arrival and it was working, so it was not something we were aware of until we were notified by you. The dishwasher has also been replaced since your stay. Overall, when issues arose, our management company and local operations manager were responsive to you and came to the property to assist. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, it seems our property was not a good fit for what you were looking for.
  • The property was nice, clean and secluded, even with two other cottages on the property. The night sky was amazing at the back of the property, wished we would've brought a telescope. There are alot of state parks in the area for walking and hiking and Ohiopyle is close for rafting or kyaking, we were even able to take a quick trip to the Pittsburgh Zoo amd Aqaurium which was only about an hour and half away. Would book again.

    Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Even with other homes on the street, there is plenty of space to feel like you are secluded and surrounded by nature! The deck is the perfect spot to watch the summer sunsets and stars. The location is also convenient to so many attractions - Kooser State Park, Ohiopyle, and yes just a 1.5 hour drive to Pittsburgh! Thanks for staying with us!
  • Watched a sunset from the back yard! A beautiful and quiet location, close to a couple little towns and Ohiopyle. Will definitely stay here again and will bring our bikes next time!

    Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Paddlington is the perfect place to watch those summer sunsets. With close proximity to the Yough River and Ohiopyle, the location can't be beat!
  • The locations was absolutely beautiful, very out of the way! My kids thought it was to far away from civilization lol. The home was cozy even though the AC was not working the window units worked a little fan we purchased also worked great. We toured the Falling Waters, Ohiopyle state park and some hiking. I highly recommend for a little getaway for a couple/family or alone.

    Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us! Paddlington is a great spot to feel "remote", yet close enough to the Laurel Highlands and Ohiopyle attractions! We are glad you were able to explore all the area has to offer. The AC units do a great job of keeping the place cool while our central air is temporarily unavailable. We would love to have you back!
  • Overall the cottage okay and location is very nice but the cottage needs some TLC. Had come to the Confluence area to ride the Great Allegheny Passage (GAP) trail. For my rental of 13 nights, per night price was very reasonable. First the good The location is approximately 2 miles from a GAP trailhead on a lightly travelled road. Even with two other cottages sharing the driveway, hot tub and grill never heard the other renters the few nights that there were other renters. Got to see several rabbits, robins, bluejays,a groundhog and a hummingbird. Good kitchen. Used the grill twice. Too hot for hot tub. some slight differences between listing/pictures and reality Now has two window AC units. Central air still runs but doesn't seem to cool very well, is noisy. Hughes satellite internet. Speed was slow compared to at home but not sure if that is normal for Hughes. Also on a limited data plan which you only learn about days before your stay. Now the not so good Dishwasher wasn't working. Would beep, lights come on every 25-30 minutes but never worked. Bathub in bathroom by smaller bedrooms had stopper/drain hole broken off from the rest of the tub. Many dead bugs in the exhaust fan globe in master bathroom. Could see the bugs through the globe with light off. Dishes put away that weren't clean. Did notify management about these issues except for central air. Told them they could wait to fix them until after I left.

    Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing Paddlington Bear Cottage! This home is certainly a great spot for those who enjoy nature, with great accessibility to many Confluence attractions. We appreciate the detailed review, and would like to provide updates on the condition of the property. The central air system is no longer running as it should, which is why we have provided AC units. These AC units are in great working condition, and can keep the home as cold as you’d like. We do currently use satellite internet, and there is a fee for use. This fee is listed in the quote prior to booking, so guests are aware that internet is a paid amenity. We are working to replace the satellite internet with a more speedy option, but, we are pleased to offer any sort of Wifi/internet service given the location of the property. A note on the dishwasher: Unfortunately, your guest stay was the first time the dishwasher was no longer running properly. The entire dishwasher needs to be replaced. A new one has been ordered, and will be installed by the end of the summer. We do apologize that it was not working during your stay. As for the tub/drain, a previous guest applied too much weight on the drain and cracked it. The tub can still be used, but, will need repaired for next season. Lastly, we appreciate your communications with sales and operations during your stay about the bugs, dishes, etc. We provide a local contact for this very reason – to provide assistance for any matter during your guest stay, so we are glad you reached out to resolve these issues.
  • We booked this place on one day's notice so I can overlook some usual amenities not being there such as soap, shampoo/conditioner, matches and other similar things that hosts usually supply. That being said, it was a wonderful place to stay. Very cozy, doggo friendly and beautiful place to spend time with easy access to Ohiopyle. We absolutely recommend staying there

    Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us and providing a guest review! We really appreciate your feedback. Sorry that we did not have these supplies on hand for your stay. They have since been added to the property--so, we appreciate the chance to get better for future guests. Yes, we love been dog and family friendly! Hope to have you back again real soon!
  • Property was cozy and quaint. Close to Falling Waters and Ohiopyle - good location to visit the area. Property management is accessible and responsive. Good experience.

    Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us! So, glad you enjoyed our place and great to hear that our property management company was accessible and responsive--that's always great to hear.
  • Quiet setting. We saw a few critters and sitting on the back porch in the evening we saw lots of birds. It is perfect if you want to "unplug" for a bit. Though it is secluded, you can get to restaurants in 15 minutes, and you still have your TV and internet if you can't let that go!

    Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us. We do love the quiet, country meadow that this cottage sits. Loads of birds--if you are a bird lover the back deck is a nice spot. Thanks for being such a great guest!
  • The house was wonderful, close to town, restaurants, hiking, rafting and resting. Would definitely go back.

    Owner's Response: So, glad you enjoyed our cottage. It does put you close to great hiking and rafting. Great to hear that you also found it restful! Come on back again real soon!
  • We enjoyed the cottage, the area and the wildlife. Property manager was available for any questions that we had. Thank you, David. We hope to stay again sometime.

    Owner's Response: Owner's Response: Thank you for providing your guest review! We are always grateful to our guests that take the time from the busy lives to do so! We completely agree the decks are really wonderful to kick back, relax and see the local wildlife that frequent the property! So, glad you enjoyed them. It was my pleasure working with you. Come back again real soon! We would love to have you!
  • It was very clean and equipped with everything we needed. The location was perfect for getting to the Yough Lake. Would definitely stay again!

  • The property is very secluded and a great place to "get away from it all". The cabin was very clean and was very nice. On the way in we saw 9 deer in the field out back. Overall great place and awesome experience.

Similar listings

Featured
$189.00/night
tleaze

SATORI COTTAGE

LATROBE, PA
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Baths
  • 4 Guests
  • COTTAGE
tleaze
SATORI COTTAGE - Person
2 5 2
Featured
$200.00/night
tleaze

TURNING LEAF LODGE

OHIOPYLE, PA
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 1.5 Baths
  • 8 Guests
  • COTTAGE
tleaze
TURNING LEAF LODGE - Person
40 4.95 40
Featured
$175.00/night
tleaze

HOLTHEIM HIDEAWAY

SOMERSET, PA
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Baths
  • 6 Guests
  • COTTAGE
tleaze
HOLTHEIM HIDEAWAY - Person
19 4.74 19
Request to book
$99/night
Search

September 2023

  • M
  • T
  • W
  • T
  • F
  • S
  • S
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30

October 2023

  • M
  • T
  • W
  • T
  • F
  • S
  • S
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
0 Adults
0 Children
Pets
Size
Listing type
Price
Amenities
Facilities

Compare listings

Compare